Proform PF 3.6 doesn't move.

edited October 2021 in Treadmill Problems
Hello all.
I'm here because I need to fix an issue with my brother's treadmill.
It's my first time trying to fix a treadmill but I've been fixing other kind of devices all throughout my life.

Here's the problem:
I press start or any speed button and it trips the circuit breaker (in the panel, not on the treadmill or the socket).

Beforehand I must say that this treadmill has worked fine for many years in 3 different houses, all of them had sockets protected by circuit breakers. It was bought in the 2000s so it's ~15 yrs old now. At some point about 6~8 years ago the treadmill started having this issue. Initially it was intermittent but then it became a permanent issue. There was never any attempt to fix it until now.

Here're relevant facts:
- It began happening on one house and now it's happening on another that is newer.
- Different sockets have been tested and even different power cables.
- I've opened it, there was almost no dust in it (to my surprise because I've seen another treadmill in the past full of dust and I was expecting the same) and it appears to be in good condition and there's nothing immediately suspicious.
- The LED of the controller board is lit when it powers on.
- The inclination motor works fine even with someone over the treadmill.
- The LCD panel is fine and I was even able to access an internal menu which revealed that it had already completed about 1600Km.
- Tried moving the belt myself and starting it while moving (to reduce the effort to the motor) but still it tripped the CB.
- When I move the belt by myself the speed is correctly detected (meaning the speed sensor is fine).
- As it all points to something related with the motor (or the transformer for the motor) I temporarily disconnected the wire that controls the motor's speed and I could start the treadmill except (evidently) the motor was not moving.